:APOLOGIES… SORT-OF

01.15.11

This post was one of many sitting in my draft box destined to never see the light of day.  It, like the rest, represented a fleeting thought without a real direction… that is until my last post where I got called out on a spelling mistake (you know who you are)!

It is no secret that I am a bad speller.  I am a notoriously bad speller.  My tombstone will read ‘Here lies Michael Bevivino, it’s a good thing he drew for a living.’  Writing for me is like asking a writer to draw.  Words and sentences look wrong, but I don’t have the skill set to fix them.

Which brings me to this blog.  I find myself writing more than I set out to.  The point of this blog was to showcase my work.  However for as much as I would like the images to stand on their own, like most things, I find they are more compelling when you know the history and thoughts behind them.  So I am forced (me pretending that anyone has enough interest in what I am doing to be forced) to write.

This paragraph from Vitruvius’s The Ten Books on Architecture resonates with me:

17. Since, therefore, the possession of such talents due to natural capacity is not vouchsafed at random to entire nations, but only to a few great men; since, moreover, the function of the architect requires a training in all the departments of learning; and finally, since reason, on account of the wide extent of the subject, concedes that he may possess not the highest but not even necessarily a moderate knowledge of the subjects of study, I request, Caesar, both of you and of those who may read the said books, that if anything is set forth with too little regard for grammatical rule, it may be pardoned. For it is not as a very great philosopher, nor as an eloquent rhetorician, nor as a grammarian trained in the highest principles of his art, that I have striven to write this work, but as an architect who has had only a dip into those studies. Still, as regards the efficacy of the art and the theories of it, I promise and expect that in these volumes I shall undoubtedly show myself of very considerable importance not only to builders but also to all scholars.

Vitruvius who spends much of the volume contending that an Architect must be knowledgeable in all subjects to be successful, in the same breath, begs for Cesar’s forgiveness for his lack of writing skills.  He also proclaims quite confidently that despite that deficiency, his ideas are ‘of very considerable importance.’

While I don’t share Vitruvius’s arrogance, I do believe that you must be confident enough in your ideas to use whatever tools you have to express them.  So despite a lifetime spent avoiding having to articulate my thoughts in words, I beg for your forgiveness in my misuse of them while trying to find my voice too.

Leave a Reply

