:A CHAIN

02.01.11

Everyone deals with stress and sadness in different ways.  Last year I dealt with mine with alcohol.  Not in a show-up-to-work-drunk kind of way… but in a polishing-off-a-couple-fingers-of-whiskey-to-be-able-to-sleep…Nyquil way.  I have always prided myself as the type of person that can look at the big picture and put things in perspective.  But sometimes I think it’s okay to grieve for yourself.  For a little while anyway… then it’s time to move on.

I came across an article on Lifehacker (another one of my blog addictions) about Jerry Seinfelds Productivity Secret: a chain calendar.

The idea is brilliantly simple. Start with a calendar that shows the whole year.  Pick a task or habit you want to accomplish and then but a big ‘X’ over it each day you do it.  The goal is to form a ‘chain’ and not break it.

My goal was to run three times a week… my thought being, physical exhaustion could replace my liquid sleep aide.  I am happy to report that for the month of January I haven’t broken the chain once and I’m sleeping like a baby.  Well sleeping like a 30-year-old baby anyway.

I figured if I was going to look at this thing for a year I might as well design it too.  If you would like your own version of my Seinfeldian calendar, pick a color and drop me a line!

3 Responses to “:A CHAIN”

  1. Stacia Says:

    I would ask you to design a calendar for me in blue, if only I could come up with a personal goal I wish to accomplish! 🙂

    • mbevivino Says:

      I think blue suits you… how about a goal of only one Chipotle burrito a week?

      • Stacia Says:

        Hmmm… do it! I think I have been successful!
        A more challenging goal might be to limit all fast-food consumption to once a week?


Leave a Reply

