:OUTSIDE IN – INSIDE OUT

09.12.12

I used to sit and stare from the outside in,
tearing myself inside out.
Listening to the creative demons inside,
that filled the stomach with self doubt.

The fear of failure for dreams not reached,
staring at the ceiling up at night.
For some it’s not a voice inside,
but a soul searching endless fight.

Not with one giant leap,
but with one step after another.
You find faith in yourself,
and find faith in others.

Shuffling my feet forward,
after the souls who shuffle before me.
Across the painted lines,
on a canvas for all to see.

So now it’s the beat of the train,
sun beating through the plexi on my face.
Staring out to the city,
and joining the aspiring pace.

Not a race for recognition,
or accomplishments to tout.
I’m on this path not to be heard on the outside
But to hear the voice on the inside, out.

7 Responses to “:OUTSIDE IN – INSIDE OUT”

  1. Aunt Elaine Says:

    Love this, Mike! Must be you get your poetic genes from your mother. ❤

  2. Stacia Says:

    That was good 🙂
    btw, you have an ad today! for AIonline.edu (got to it by clicking on the comments button in the email I received as a follower of your blog)

  3. Stacia Says:

    once I posted my comment, though, it disappeared

  4. Nick Says:

    Go get ’em.


Leave a Reply

