:LEGS

10.29.12

Ahead of Sandy I thought I should publish this post I wrote about Irene (sometimes I sit on posts until I think the public is ready for them). I hope everyone on the East coast is hunkered in safe and sound.  Here is some good reading if you still have power and need a break from the news:

A friend of mine writes a great interior design blog called Design Is What You Can Get Away With.  Lindsey pulls together inspirational images and describes not only why elements in those images make a room successful but how they can be applied to your own space.  This post is inspired by her blog.

My inspirational images:

 

Images via Apartment Therapy

We have been going through the slow process of switching out our Ikea furniture for ‘real furniture’.  However one of the pieces I am not jumping to pitch is our Lack TV table. It’s a knockoff of its high-end brethren I know, but Ikea like it or not, offers an option for those looking for minimalist furniture at an affordable price.ikea lack table hack

Remember hurricane Irene (it’s hard not to this week)?  I wrote a great respectable blog post on how a small design detail made a huge difference during some of the flooding. Well my wife and I experienced some flooding during that hurricane (and probably this one too). You wouldn’t think that living on the 10th floor that you would have to worry about flooding, but a completely trashed floor and some ruined furniture later, I can promise you we did.

The reason I like the Lack table is the proportions of the cabinet, but I have never really liked its legs. I think they are a bit clunky. The flood all but took care of them for me. Blue painters tape made for a suitable ‘temporary’ (10 month) repair, but having just gotten our floors redone (man I hope we don’t have to go through that again), it was time to fix them.

 hairpin leg hack

Not quite ready to upgrade, I found these great hairpin legs from www.hairpinlegs.com. A few hours later, yes I had to take the entire thing apart to get the legs off, I have the perfect mix of sophisticated and affordable. It kind of makes me want to put hairpin legs on everything (I wish I had, six inches of water and we would still be good!) . What do you think of my Ikea hack?

ikea lack table hack

And as a tribute to one of my wife’s favorite movies and the way Lindsey always ends her blog posts:

‘Lieutenant Dan, you got new legs’ -Forest Gump

Stay safe everyone!

6 Responses to “:LEGS”

  1. Stacia Says:

    I like it! 🙂
    Can you come improve my lame furniture? Even without flooding?

  2. designiswhatyoucangetawaywith Says:

    OMG you’re gonna make me cry! I love it! I’m glad you guys are safe and sound.


Leave a Reply

